New to openlp

edited November -1 in General Discussion

Hello All,

I'm new to openlp.  I just wanted to share what brought me to your site and your application.  I'm in the media department of a large Romanian church, and we've been using EasyWorship for a few years.

Unfortunately, EasyWorship still does not fully support the correct Romanian characters.  Also, there has been no support for the Romanian Bible (Versiunea Dumitru Cornilescu), which has been requested for several years.  Windows Vista and Windows 7 have set the Romanian keyboard to use the correct Romanian characters; Șș Țț (s-comma and t-comma) and not Şş Ţţ (s-cedilla and t-cedilla).  These characters showed up as "?" in openlp 1; but it was displayed properly in openlp 2.

This has let us to explore other alternatives, and I came across openlp 2.  Any tips on exporting from EasyWorship and importing into openlp?  I look forward to trying out openlp in the coming weeks, hopefully it will suit our needs.

Comments

• edited July 2010

My church recently moved over to OpenLP from EasyWorship. I had to write a custom little program that could extract the data from EasyWorship to a CSV file, and then another script to convert from the CSV file to OpenLP. I'll see if I can find that CSV-to-OpenLP script.

• edited July 2010

Hi Raoul, that would be much appreciated!

• edited July 2010

I'm afraid I can only find the app to extract the songs from EasyWorship into a CSV file. Maybe we can add some sort of CSV import into the Song Import Wizard (when it's complete).

• edited August 2010

Hi!

There's a nice program called EasySearch that exports songs from EasyWorship to text files. Check out http://www.headwest-productions.co.uk/DownloadEwSearch.htm