Embedded files

edited August 2013 in General Support
Sorry if this is documented clearly elsewhere, but, as a newbie, I am just trying to clarify what happens with powerpoint (and other media files) with respect to the service file.

As I understand it ...

When I add a powerpoint presentation to my service, the powerpoint file itself is embedded in the service file. This means if I copy the service file to another computer everything will still work. Similarly, if I reuse the service file some weeks later when the original powerpoint presentation has been removed from my computer, it will again still work. All good!

However, if I want to edit a presentation which has already been added to my service, then I need remove it and add it again for it to pick up the changes. Is that right?

I also assume that, if I have copied a service file which contains a powerpoint presentation to another computer, there is no way to retrieve that powerpoint file from the service (eg. if I want to edit it). And if I delete it from the service then it is deleted for good.

Finally, I'm guessing that this is also true of media files and images. Is that correct?

Meanwhile, can I just say that, having spent the last week playing around and converting things from SongPro, I have been very impressed and excited by what OpenLP seems to offer. We are planning to use it live for the first time next Sunday to see how it goes.

Cheers!

Comments

• As far as I know, you do need to re-import the Powerpoint if you edit it. You don't need to drag it back into the media manager, as that will already be pointing to the external file, but you do need to drag it back into the service. I don't know if it's possible to open it from inside OpenLP and then edit the service copy directly.

The .osz service file is actually a zip file with some XML files and all the media, so you can access the files quite easily.