Reinstalling but old settings are still there

Hi,

I work for a denomination in Australia in the state office and just looking into recomending OpenLP for some of our congregations to use. I installed a copy to complete some testing however i now would like to uninstall and reinstall so I can document all the settings changes that i do. When I uninstall it and re-install it, it looks like it isnt a fresh installation as all the songs and settings I did are still there. I have tried uninstalling and rebooting and then reinstalling. Loving Open LP, it looks great and I think it would be perfect for some of our congregations that are currently using Powerpoint but don't have the budget for some of the paid software.

Comments

  • Hi Paulie,

    The OpenLP data is stored separately from the program, so re-installing it does not remove the data and settings.
    To remove the data you have to remove (or move) the data folder. You can find the data folder by using the OpenLP menu: Tools -> Open Data Folder. Once the folder has opened in the file explorer you can close OpenLP and move or delete the folder.
    The settings are stored in Windows registry database, and has to be deleted from there. To do this open "regedit" and go to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\OpenLP\OpenLP" and delete the entries there. 

    Note that you can export and import settings from OpenLP so you don't have to remember every setting when you install on a new box.
  • @tgc ;I did exactly what you suggested but keep getting this error.  :| 


  • @tgc ; Nevermind. I figured it out. I kept forgetting to delete that folder in the hidden roaming folder. 
Sign In or Register to comment.