Note: The forums are currently unable to send e-mails. This is being worked on, but until it is fixed, you will be unable to post to the forums. Please contact us in IRC to enable your account for posting.

Adding a YouTube Plugin

Hi wonderful people, 

I've been trying to work out a better way to use OpenLP to show YouTube clips, that doesn't violate their terms of service (as with downloading clips) but also avoids waiting for buffering and ads (as with iframe in a custom slide), all the while keeping in OpenLP (as with loading and pre-buffering a clip in a web browser).

I have knocked together a sample idea in HTML/JS, but I'm a hobby programmer and not very familiar with python yet and was wondering if anyone could give me a helpful starting place for building plugins? The wiki page is out of date, and while I'll continue to read through the source code for ideas, a rundown of the structure would be super helpful.

Happy to show the source files for the HTML mock-up if anyone is interested (skipping ads not guaranteed, but for now it is)

Thanks, 

Michael

Comments

• Hi Michael,

It would be interesting to see what you've come up with. YouTube, has been a bit of a hot request, but one with so many different issues, as you've hinted at!

If you're keen on pursuing this, first you should check out https://wiki.openlp.org/Development:Getting_Started and then come and have a chat with us guys on IRC. Also the mailing list is available for deeper discussions.

As for developing a YouTube plugin, the custom plugin probably follows close to what you want to do, so I suggests using that as a starting point.
  • Hi Phill,

Thanks for your reply. The code is now on GitHub at https://github.com/Lawzy93/olp-yt
    Let me know if you have any questions. I'll keep you updated on how things are progressing.

Michael
  • I don't think skipping ads is allowed by YouTube's terms and conditions. Their strict Ts&Cs is the main reason we have not developed a YouTube plugin yet.