Linux Presentation/Media Distro

edited November -1 in Development

Recently it has crossed my mind to have a linux distro designed solely for presentations.

Why? It would be light weight and focused primarily on the task of presentations. Media is resource intensive and although size of media formats can be small, the demand for higher quality seems to be driving video, audio, image sizes upward (HD).

Features:

• Support for multiple screens
  • Multiple foldback support
  • Dual feed outputs, maybe to have separate presentations in a lobby or outside the building eg. Announcements
  • Support for audio and video capture
  • Internet support for live streaming
  • Live stream capture
  • Supports OpenLP :-)

I am no programmer, but this seed of thought might inspire those among us. With that said it just crossed my mind that we could possibly do this with a minimalist K/Ubuntu install and add as necessary. The reason said linux is because we want something unhinged on any private or more recently anti-gospel companies. Any thoughts guys?

Comments

• edited January 2012

This sounds like an excellent challenge for anyone who is a Linux enthusiast.  My comfort is in the Windows OS but the idea of building an OS specifically for church presentation has crossed my mind.  As the original comment suggests it should be presentation focused for Audio/ Video but light weight enough to operate on older hardware.  Often churches make do with donated second hand computer systems with minimal processors and RAM (we use an older laptop that was donated to the music ministry)

I am sure others would be interested in a customized install of an OS.  But like myself are not familiar enough to understand how to do it.

Is anyone up to the idea or can point some of us in the right direction?

• edited January 2012